Basil Pesto

In the ongoing development of my urban garden, I continue to plant basil in any place I can find extra space. It’s in my herb box amongst its friends, downstairs n the garden with the tomatoes, and it even has its very own individual pot on our balcony. This is because I think everything tastes better with basil. It’s just one of those flavors I can’t seem to get enough of.
DSC_0767

One of my favorite things to do with basil is make pesto, it’s a great way to change the sharp flavor into something more palatable and easy to use. The great thing about pesto is, you can change the taste and texture by using different types of basil and different nuts. And it’s SO EASY to make.

Here’s a basic pesto recipe you can play around with:

2 cups fresh basil leaves (try with different types!)
½ cup pine nuts (or cashews/walnuts)
2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
½ cup Parmesan cheese

Method:

Lightly toast nuts, and then put all the ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth. Easy peezy.

DSC_0775

Hint:: I don’t add salt or pepper to my pesto. Most things Jake and I will add salt and pepper to when the plate is in front of us, and so to keep the sodium intake down I try and keep salt out of the cooking process. It doesn’t always work but it’s a great habit to get into where possible.
It’s super delicious with poached eggs on toast. DSC_0761

 

 

Leave a Reply

